Monday, March 16, 2026

Longer Marathon Debrief 2026

I have a bunch of screenshot that I want to write about. It's been a hard week, to say the least.


I'm proud I kept to the aerobic zone even though it was really hot.

I'm proud of my strategy. I used 2 minutes run / 1 minute walk until I met a friend who needed company walking.


I'm proud that I ran with my cousin's names and DOB- DOD who died as a result of being hit by a vehicle while running. I had their info on the back of my bib along with Jeff Galloway.

Heat Adjustment Guidelines
55–60°F: No adjustment needed to 1% slower.
60–65°F: 3% slower than goal pace.
65–70°F: 5% slower than goal pace.
70–75°F: 7% slower than goal pace.
75–80°F: 12% slower than goal pace.
80–85°F: 20% slower than goal pace.
Above 85°F: Run for fun/comfort. 


I'm proud of my entire training season. It was weird doing the Rose Bowl Half after the marathon last year. It's been a good build.


I'm proud of my splits. I know I can walk an 18 minute mile. I didn't stop at mile 18, even though the race organizers allowed it.

I'm proud that even though I knew I had a blister and some chafing, I didn't give up.


Training for a marathon didn't make me skinny, and I'm proud of myself that I exist in a larger body and as a slower runner, but still find a sense of belonging in the LARR and Fit4Mom community.


I'm proud of my fueling strategy. I didn't bring too much or too little.


I'm proud of myself for planning easy lessons for the post-marathon week. I definitely needed that BUT also I was walking pretty good with the exception of my blister and purple toenail.


I'm proud of myself for registering for 2027. It took me a week to work up the courage. But I realized that I really enjoy not only the race day but the whole experience of a season, a training plan, the discipline, the sense of purpose. Even though I had some DOMS, I missed running. I felt a profound moment while vacuuming where I realized that I should just go ahead and register again because I enjoy it.

I'm proud of planning and executing a birthday party for my child just 6 days after the marathon.

I'm not sure if we will have Spring RunClub+, this is the sign-up week. I'm proud of myself for programming it out and being ready, in case there is any interest.

Finish line is the Cobra 5Kai, 10Kai, and Half Miyagithon (along the LA River between Owensmouth and Vanalden). It's being hosted by the same group as the Clueless & Breathless race, Jed & Ted's Excellent Races. https://runsignup.com/Race/CA/CanogaPark/CobraKaiRace 

3/22 Kickoff party @ Waffle Love 9411 Reseda Blvd, Northridge, CA 91324

I got these warrior headbands https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0G1B8H5BM, and I have some other gifts that I could bestow at the kickoff party.

I didn't go to the Medal Walk and pot luck because we got sick. And I'm okay with that. Because at the end of the day, I'm a mother runner, and parenthood is a demanding job.


This made me sob. Yes, of course part of the reason is hormones. But also, because every part of this video is true for me. The Disneyland 5k was my postpartum comeback race. The Galloway training plan was so doable. I learned so much from Jeff in just 2 years. He taught me a lot about coaching, especially mentoring new or returning runners. I know there are other great coaches out there, like Coach Bennett, put Jeff was really something special. He made every athlete feel like an important and valued member of the community. His techniques were so inclusive, it left us with no excuses. He had a solution for everything. The loss really hit me after finishing my goal race. Kind of how I felt last December after reaching the end of the semester and end of RunClub+ Session after my cousin died. When I got to rest a bit is when I got to process my grief. And it manifested throughout my whole body. That's how this feels.

Thursday, March 12, 2026

Marathon Spending

The marathon experience this year was great. I've got no regrets about signing up for LARR. I've had a wonderful time using the premium waiting areas and getting on the coaching calls every Thursday. I didn't love this year's shirt, but that's okay. I wish they were doing a brunch this year, but it's okay, they did one last year. Maybe it's only something they do on a milestone year like #40.

Registration $187.50
Photo Package $43.19
Gu and Bloks $62.76
KPA dress & orange shorts $52.03
Old Navy outfit for expo day and medal monday $72.46 + $21.94
Footwear $806.59
CHI Massage $75
LARR membership $127.00
Total $1448.47

We didn't get a hotel this year, either the night before or the night after the race. This spending is about on par with what we've done in the past.

https://bitchonabike.blogspot.com/2025/11/cost-of-racecations.html

I've already registered the family for the Mission Inn Run.

$55 Kayla 10k
$40 Mike 5k
$25 Albert 1/2k

And we'll have a hotel for that weekend.

Considering the Nike After Dark half marathon, the Bimbo Global 10k. Very glad we didn't register for the Palm Springs Half because we were all super sick that weekend anyway.

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1nlowhAJIjB3sM-9cfg-DOi0__HRAWyN1w2tEz_LIxPg/edit?usp=sharing 

Anyone who knows has made a powerpoint presentation of upcoming races and their registration dates. I'm still working on this, but I'll try to get it updated.



Race Report: Los Angeles Marathon, March 8, 2026


The event itself: Where? How long? When? Weather?

The big factor in this year's race was the heat. I looked it up. It was a full fifteen degrees warmer at the starting line than last year. The race began at 7am, shortly followed by sunrise. I felt sweat dripping down my face by 8:30am. The humidity was 12%, so the water evaporated quickly.
They handed out ziploc bags of ice somewhere between miles 14-15. This totally saved my race. I put them directly in my sports bra. I also kept picking up discarded bags of ice off the ground or from the tops of trash cans, to keep packing it in. I didn't run out of ice until mile twenty-four, not coincidentally, when my core temperature started to overheat. Thank goodness they were handing out ice bags and cooling towels at the finish line.

Course description and evaluation of event logistics

As a result of all the misting, ice bags, and being sprayed by hoses and water guns, I ended up with significant chafing. I kinda felt it during the race, but I just kept going. One unusual factor of this year's race was that daylight savings began on race day. So everyone lost one hour of sleep in the annual spring forward. It was confusing for how to set the alarm clock. I went upstairs around 4 or 5pm and set a timer for 7.5 hours. I didn't want to set the alarm for some time like 2am, and have it get messed up from the time change.

How did you train for the event

I followed the Los Angeles Road Runners level 3 plan pretty well. I made >90% of my training runs, only skipping if I was sick. The training paid off. I also implemented a new rule. No long runs over 5 hours. At 5 hours, no matter the distance, I would just stop and call it a day. So I didn't do an 18 or 20 miler this year.

Gear and Nutrition

I got a new hydration bladder, 1.5 Liters. I didn't go for 2 liters because my backpack is on the small side, and more water just makes it heavier. I ended up refilling the bladder three times, and I didn't stop to use the toilets once, which tells me that I must have been sweating a lot. I drank Electrolit at each station where they were offering it. At each water station, I used the water to douse my arms and head, and used my bladder for drinking.
I'm very proud of my fueling strategy this year. I set a fifteen-minute timer on my phone. I would alternate between carbs and electrolytes. I didn't start feeling any GI distress until mile 24. This is a big improvement over last year, when I started to feel the same way at mile 17. I would eat one Gu or 3 Clif bloks and that's it, every 30 minutes. Super simple. I would chew one SaltStick FastChew every 30 minutes.

Specific experiences

I got to run with a friend through miles 14, 15, and 16. It was really nice to reset my brain and give my headphones a break. My Disney playlist came in very handy. I did exactly what I practiced in training. If I could sing along, I was going slow enough. If I couldn't sing, if I was too out of breath, I would slow down.
I have learned so much from the Rise and Run podcast. I learned how to PR in fun. Jeff Galloway was definitely looking out for me. I learned how to take pride in celebrating the back of the pack. I have learned not to get upset when the water stations run out of water or the fuel stations run out of fuel. I do most of my training runs alone, unsupported, and I brought a huge amount of fuel with me.
It looks like I was using my intervals for about the first half, until I met my friend. She was struggling, and we walked together. I'm actually happy because it allowed me to keep some energy for the last eight miles, which I walked alone. The organizers gave people the option to stop at 18, and still get a medal, which my friend did. It was the right choice for her. I felt strong and decided to keep going.
Run Club Row came through for me big time this year. I stopped at the Running Mamis tent for a hug and left with a cooling towel. That towel saved me. Lots and lots of volunteers re-wet the towel with ice water. I mean, just spectators. The official water stations dried up. Like before mile 17. Around that time, even though it was only noon, officials started telling us to get on the sidewalk. That's when I started hustling a bit because I didn’t want to be swept at mile 18. The party pacers, kind of like balloon ladies, passed me very early on. Much earlier than last year. I felt a kind of panic, but also not because the LA Road Runners coach assured us that gear check, late water stations, and medical would be available until 5 or 6pm, so I didn't feel the need to rush. I beat the garbage trucks and street sweepers, so that felt good.

Finish and associated emotion

I didn't cross the finish line with any friends, and I didn't see my coach there, but I was still very proud of my effort. I didn't cry at the end, but I did cry at mile 19 after the love from the Running Mamis. I was just so grateful for the support of strong women, especially on International Women's Day. I felt like finishing a marathon is actually easier than giving birth, and women are designed for it. I saw so many strong women out there on the course, and it was extremely inspiring. I finished only 20 minutes later than last year, despite it being significantly hotter, so I feel like I did improve.


Overall evaluation of the event

I recommend this event if you want to see a lot of the city. The spectators didn't let me down; it was a huge party. The energy was hyped, and the vibes were off the chart. I made it a priority to post to my Instagram story each mile, and it felt like the race went by so fast. Other people were suffering, but I was having a mental sadness that it was going by too fast. I guess I can thank my training. And my coaches. I did prepare mentally by doing a 10-mile training run, one week before race day, walking the first 6 miles. That's the LA Marathon strategy. Most of the hills are in the first 6 miles, so if you can regulate your pace, then you'll have energy for the rest.



Wednesday, March 4, 2026

marathon reflection

I attended a workshop on end-of-semester reflections for both teachers and students on Tuesday, December 9, 2025. The facilitator gave us some great reflection questions, which I have applied to my marathon training.

To what extent have you met your RunClub goals?

How it started: Keep up with kiddo. Slim down. Balance mood.

How its going: My kid is fast. I will have to get a lot faster to keep up with him. Also, I didn't appreciate how long it would take to slim down. If you had told me this would be a 5-year process, I'm not sure I would have had the courage to start. Balanced mood is 💯 working. I don't think I could have survived the past few years without running. I chill hard. So hard. My marriage has improved. Menopause symptoms are muted. Healthy eating and self-care increased.

What helped you learn? What do you wish you'd known on day one? What did you learn that actually mattered? What surprised you?

The hamstring pain after the 2025 marathon was likely due to a tight pelvic floor, not a hamstring injury. Summer beach miles are the best, shoutout to Goodr and Valley Runners LA. The Bimbo Global race was super fun and free. Damsel in Defense saved me from a rapist. Katie and Brianna RIP. The LA Road Runners Dodger Stadium meetup and Asics shoe demo was awesome.

Foot pain was caused by running downhill in bad shoes, not by laces being too tight. It was actually from a tight muscle in the shin (tibialis anterior). Lock laces are convenient, but didn’t solve the issue. Stretching is what you do after the run. Mobility is what you do between runs.

I was able to keep up with the TK boys at the LA Zoo while all the other parents and teachers were lagging behind. They said I was in amazing shape. Thanks to marathon training! Yesterday I was mistaken for a student. I'm 20-25 years older than the students. So I guess that's a compliment.

Aha moment?

An Aha moment I had was that I am not running much faster or slower than friends, so why am I running alone? Why not just do the race(s) together? Is the pace more important than the camaraderie?

RunClubCollage

Now I'm trying to decide whether I would want to do the LA Marathon again in 2027. Obviously, you don't have to run a marathon every year. You can enjoy shorter distances and still be considered a real runner. Is RunClub+ with Fit4Mom West SFV working out, or would I actually enjoy running with the LA Road Runners at Balboa Park (if they continue to offer that location)? Or do I actually enjoy running alone and creating my own program?

Major Setbacks this Training Cycle

A sexual assault was reported on campus on Sept 26, 2025, at 5:30am, and I'm convinced I saw the guy. I believe he saw me running, sized me up, and decided to keep looking. He assaulted a female running near CSUN. It shook me up and I didn't know what to do. Luckily, we attended a street fair in Simi Valley and I saw a booth selling Pepper Spray. I've been carrying it ever since.

My cousin died while out on a training run for a half-marathon on Nov 7, 2025. It has not made me want to stop running, but it has made me wear even brighter colors (if that's even possible) and keep my head on a swivel at all times. Her sister also died 25 years ago while jogging on March 19, 2001, and re-reading this article makes me so angry that they victim-shamed her, and the driver was not held responsible. The article also mentions that she was running without her ID and wasn't immediately identified. This is why I'm so adamant about running with an ID and emergency contacts.
Subclade K, even though I got a flu shot. Albert was vomiting on Superbowl Sunday, Feb 8, 2026. We had a horrible virus that is still hanging on more than 3 weeks later. It was GI-related, then sinus, and finally a cough.

But hey, at least we got so much rain that we didn't have a horrible wildfire season like last year.